Nfl_pic1 NFL Text NFl Images NFL image2  
| HOME |






Home > Cincinnati BengalsHistory

American Football East
New England Patriots
New York Jets
Buffalo Bills
Miami Dolphins
American Football North
Pittsburgh Steelers
Baltimore Ravens
Cincinnati Bengals
Denver Broncos
American Football South
Jacksonville Jaguars
Indianapolis Colts
Houston Texans
Tennessee Titans
American Football West
Cleveland Browns
San Diego Chargers
Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders
National Football Conference East
Philadelphia Eagles
New York Giants
Washington Redskins
Dallas Cowboys
National Football Conference North
Minnesota Vikings
Detroit Lions
Green Bay Packers
Chicago Bears
National Football Conference South
Atlanta Falcons
New Orleans Saints
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Carolina Panthers
National Football Conference West
Seattle Seahawks
Arizona Cardinals
St. Louis Rams
San Francisco 49ers

Cincinnati Bengals  History

  bengals history nav





Bengals history

The Cincinnati Bengals was Founded in 1966 as an American Football League expansion franchise and Played it's 1st game in 1968 later Joining the NFL in 1970.The Cincinnati Bengals professional football team is one of four teams in the north division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). Cincinnati Bengals first stadium was Nippert Stadium between 1968-1969, thereafter they moved to Riverfront Stadium/CINergy Field between 1970-1999.The Cincinnati Bengals home stadium since 2000, to date is Paul Brown Stadium. The bengals played their first games as an expansion team in 1968. Paul brown who as a coach had won three NFL titles with the Cleveland Browns during the 1950s, is the one who first organized the Cincinnati Bengals.

Jon Kitna


The Cincinnati Bengals won the AFC Central Division in its first NFL season with the help mostly relying on the defense of starred cornerbacks Lemar Parrish and Ken Riley. In 1968, American Football League named running back Paul Robinson as the rookie of the year and in 1969, quarter back Greg Cook took the honors of being named rookie of the year. Paul Brown masterminded the Cincinnati Bengals to postseason appearances again in 1973 and 1975. In the same period Ken Anderson became known as one of the NFLís finest quarterbacks, with the help of wide receiver Isaac Curtis and tight ends Bob Trumpy. Ken Anderson won three consecutive titles from 1973 to 1975.Under head coach Forrest Gregg the bengals won the division crown in 1981. Forrest Gregg was a former offensive tackle and a member of the Hall of Fame.

The Bengals remained ambitious throughout the mid-1980s. Boomer Esiason replaced Ken Anderson in 1985 and, like his predecessor, became one of the NFLís premier quarterbacks. Esiason won the first of his two NFC passing titles and shared player of the year honors with Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Randall Cunningham. Cincinnati won it's fifth division title in 1990 and Esiason added one more to get six consecutive 3,000-yard season, a club record. The Bengals won a total of just 11 games from 1992 to 1994, and the team continued to struggle for much of the rest of the 1990s. Hall of Famer Paul Brown is considered to be the greatest coach of the Cleveland Browns, having led them to many championship titles using innovative approaches to training, game plans and other revolutionary approaches that earned him his enshrinement in the Football Hall of Fame.


Only one number has ever to date been retired by the Cincinnati Bengals and that is #54 belonging to Bob Johnson Offensive lineman, the 1st ever draft pick of the Bengals. The Cincinnati Bengals fight song is titled touchdown bengals and their cheerleaders are called ben-gals. Their mascot is named who-Dey. The Cincinnati Bengals colors are black, orange and white. The helmet design is of orange background with tiger stripes. In 2002, the leagues realignment plan took effect shifting the Cincinnati Bengals to the north division from the central division of the American football league. The Cincinnati Bengals have won two Conference Championships in 1981 and 1988.The bengals have also made appearances to two Super Bowls, in XVI AND XXIII, in which they lost both of them. For more information go to (


Google NFL Cincinnati Bengals News

Bengals Place Franchise Tag On DE Smith
WJLA, DC - 3 hours ago
In six NFL seasons -- all with Cincinnati -- Smith has recorded 41 sacks, ranking fourth all-time in club history. "We are pleased to designate Justin as ...
Bengals designate Smith "franchise"
all 103 news articles

George Seifert: The best coach no one remembers, AZ - 19 hours ago
The 49ers gave up the lowest number of points in the NFL during the regular season and beat the Cincinnati Bengals , 26-21, in Super Bowl XVI. ...

USA Today
Head-Coach History Couldn't Be Made By Better Role Models ; Super ...
International News Service, Australia - Feb 14, 2007
With all this scrutiny, Frazier -- once the defensive coordinator for the Cincinnati Bengals and now the Colts' special assistant to the head coach -- said ...
Frazier Gets 2nd Chance to Celebrate International News Service
So nice guys can finish first: Dungy's win may break new mold for ... USA Today
all 10 news articles

Ice dancers won't like this at all
Los Angeles Times, CA - Feb 15, 2007
Now the airwaves and sports sections are filled again with pro football talk, which should hold us all until the next Cincinnati Bengals arrest. ...


Home        About Us      Contacts      Site map