Nfl_pic1 NFL Text NFl Images NFL image2  
| HOME |






Home > San Diego Chargers > History

American Football East
New England Patriots
New York Jets
Buffalo Bills
Miami Dolphins
American Football North
Pittsburgh Steelers
Baltimore Ravens
Cincinnati Bengals
Denver Broncos
American Football South
Jacksonville Jaguars
Indianapolis Colts
Houston Texans
Tennessee Titans
American Football West
Cleveland Browns
San Diego Chargers
Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders
National Football Conference East
Philadelphia Eagles
New York Giants
Washington Redskins
Dallas Cowboys
National Football Conference North
Minnesota Vikings
Detroit Lions
Green Bay Packers
Chicago Bears
National Football Conference South
Atlanta Falcons
New Orleans Saints
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Carolina Panthers
National Football Conference West
Seattle Seahawks
Arizona Cardinals
St. Louis Rams
San Francisco 49ers

San Diego Chargers  History

  Untitled Document





chargers history

The San Diego Chargers nicknamed "Bolts" are a National Football League team based in San Diego, California. The Chargers were formed on August 14, 1959 as the Los Angeles Chargers and a member of the charter American Football League. Thirty two-year-old hotel executive Barron Hilton, was awarded a franchise for Los Angeles in the AFL. The chargers is one of four teams that plays in the West Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football league (NFL). They joined the NFL in 1970, and settled into the AFC West division after the NFL merger with the AFL. The name "Chargers" was picked by, then general manager Frank Ready. The Chargers only spent one season in Los Angeles, before moving to San Diego in 1961.

In the American football League the Chargers shone brighter with star players like wide receiver Lance Alworth, who in his day set the the pro football record of consecutive games with a reception. The Los Angeles/San Diego Chargers were one of the elements that made the American Football League the genesis of modern professional football. The Chargers in the their ten year life in the American Football League were coached by only one man Sid Gillman, a Hall of Famer who forced his competition to try to field as professional a product as the Chargers. With stars such as Lance Alworth, Paul Lowe, Keith Lincoln and John Hadl, the Chargers' offense struck fear into the hearts of AFL defenders.They also played defense, as indicated by their professional football record forty nine pass interceptions in 1961.The Chargers were the originators of the term "Fearsome Foursome" to describe their all-star defensive line, anchored by Earl Faison and Ernie Ladd. The phrase was later appropriated by various NFL teams. The Chargers franchise appeared in the first two American Football League Championship games and five altogether, winning the AFL title in 1963 with a 51 - 10 thumping of the Boston Patriots.

  Mike Nowak


The Chargers of that era were widely acknowledged as having the most striking uniforms in the history of pro football.In all, the Bolts reached the American Football League (AFL) playoffs five times and the American Football League (AFL) Championship four times. They won the American Football League (AFL) Championship in 1963 when they beat the Boston Patriots 51-10 before 30,127 fans at Balboa Stadium. In 34 years since the the American Football League (AFL) and the National Football League (NFL) merged in the 1970 season, the Chargers have made seven trips to the playoffs and three appearances in the AFC Championship game. At the end of the 1994 season, the Chargers faced the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX and fell 49-26. The teamís overall record is 314-347-11 (.467).The Chargers have five players and one coach enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio: wide receiver Lance Alworth (1962-1970), quarterback Dan Fouts (1973-1987), head coach/general manager Sid Gillman (1960-69, 1971), wide receiver Charlie Joiner (1976-1986), offensive lineman Ron Mix (1960-69) and tight end Kellen Winslow (1979-1987).

The Bolts uniform consists of the colors Navy blue, White, and yellow. The helmet design is a yellow and white lightning bolt on a blue helmet. The San Deigo Chargers play their home games at the Qualcomm Stadium which was opened on October 6, 1975 and has a seating capacity of 71,000.Qualcomm has also been known as the San Diego Stadium (1967-81) and San Diego/Jack Murphy Stadium (1981-96).Previous stadiums include Memorial Coliseum, Los Angeles (92,604) in 1960 and the Balboa Stadium, San Diego (34,000) from 1961-66.


Google NFL San Diego Chargers News



Chiefs TE Gonzalez saves man's life in restaurant
The Associated Press - 21 hours ago
Hunter is a lifelong fan of the San Diego Chargers, one of Kansas City's key rivals in the AFC West, and plans to be at the game when the Chiefs visit the ...
Tony Gonzalez is a Hero - What Would The Rest Of The AFC West Have ... Most Valuable Network
all 311 news articles

National Post

Former San Diego Charger Kiel dies in car crash
National Post, Canada - Jul 5, 2008
SAN DIEGO -- Former San Diego Chargers safety Terrence Kiel was killed in a car crash, police said Saturday. He was 27. According to a San Diego police ...

St. Louis reaches deal with Burton
Columbia Daily Tribune, MO - Jul 6, 2008
Kiel, 27, was driving alone after leaving a party at about 10:15 Friday night when he hit a wall in San Diego’s upscale Scripps Ranch neighborhood and was ...

History Lessons: Education of a Rookie - 5 hours ago
San Diego Chargers rookie running back Jacob Hester said that at LSU he often met with former Green Bay Packer and Hall of Fame back Jim Taylor. ...

How to be an online sports bookie, The Best Online Sports Bookmaking Software, Pay Per Head Sports and Wagers , Per Head News and Blog , PPH Sports Betting, The most reliable Offshore Bookmaking Software for bookies The best Sports Bookies Agents Pay Per Head Services Per Head Software


Home        About Us      Contacts      Site map