Nfl_pic1 NFL Text NFl Images NFL image2  
| HOME |






Home > Dallas Cowboys > History

American Football East
New England Patriots
New York Jets
Buffalo Bills
Miami Dolphins
American Football North
Pittsburgh Steelers
Baltimore Ravens
Cincinnati Bengals
Denver Broncos
American Football South
Jacksonville Jaguars
Indianapolis Colts
Houston Texans
Tennessee Titans
American Football West
Cleveland Browns
San Diego Chargers
Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders
National Football Conference East
Philadelphia Eagles
New York Giants
Washington Redskins
Dallas Cowboys
National Football Conference North
Minnesota Vikings
Detroit Lions
Green Bay Packers
Chicago Bears
National Football Conference South
Atlanta Falcons
New Orleans Saints
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Carolina Panthers
National Football Conference West
Seattle Seahawks
Arizona Cardinals
St. Louis Rams
San Francisco 49ers

Dallas Cowboys History

  Untitled Document



Cowboys history

The Dallas Cowboys were formed in 1960, in in Irving, Texas, as a National Football League (NFL) franchise. The Cowboys are one of four teams that play in the Est Division of the National Football conference. The "Steers" as it was initially known in it's first months of formation, changed it name to “Rangers,” but that name did not last long either because at that same time a baseball team operated in Dallas under that name, but was scheduled to fold before the 1960 football season. However, when the baseball team decided to play one more season, Clint Murchison Jr. and Bedford Wynne, two owners of the new NFL team, selected the name of Cowboys to avoid confusion. The team is sometimes referred to colloquially as America's Team due its having a large number of fans who live outside its immediate local area (the term itself is derived from the title of the team's 1979 highlight film).

The Cowboys uniform is a White jersey, which is worn for almost all home games and most away games. The uniform has royal blue numbers and lettering; colored jerseys feature a darker shade of blue as background (similar to that of the star logo shown to the upper right) with white numbers and lettering. Other teams sometimes intentionally wear their white jerseys when playing the Cowboys at home (when they do not do so normally) in order to force the Cowboys to utilize this latter jersey. The teams helmet design is a Silver background with a blue star. Dallas is one of the most successful franchises in NFL history, having appeared in eight Super Bowls—more than any other team.


Javier Collins

The Cowboys won five of these games, a record matched only by the San Francisco 49ers.The Dallas Cowboys Hall of Famers include Mike Ditka, coach Tom Landry,Tony Dorsett,Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, executive Tex Schramm,Roger Staubach and Randy White. Hall of Famer Tom Landry, was born on September 11, 1924, and passed away on February 12, 2000. Landry was a former all-pro defensive back for the New York Giants (1954), before becoming a coach. He coached the Dallas Cowboys for twenty nine years (1960-88); with them he won 2 Super Bowls (1972,78).Landry is third on the NFL all-time coaching wins list with 270.Tom Landry invented the "Flex Defense", when coaching in New York. It has been said that he invented the flex defense, and then invented the offense to score on it once we turned to the offensive side of the ball. On his passing, Tom Landry was interred in the Sparkman-Hillcrest Memorial Park Cemetery in Dallas, Texas.

Steve Van Buren


Other Hall of Famer Texas Earnest Schramm, Jr., was born on June 2, 1920 and passed away on July 15, 2003. Texas was the original president and general manager of the US National Football League's Dallas Cowboys franchise. Schramm became the head of the Dallas Cowboys when the former expansion team started operations in 1960.He was president and general manager of the Dallas Cowboys from 1960 through 1989. During his tenure, he hired legendary coach Tom Landry and oversaw the Cowboys rise as one of the NFL's elite franchises, nicknamed "America's Team." The Cowboys under coach Landry won the Super Bowl in 1972 and 1978 and appeared in five total.In 1966, Schramm helped start negotiations between the NFL and the American Football League, which led to the 1970 merger as well as the first Super Bowl in 1967.

In 1991, Schramm was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame. In October 2003, became the 12th person selected into the Dallas Cowboys "Ring of Honor", which he created.He was also known for his innovations that helped redefine the modern NFL, such as forming the Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders, using computer technology in scouting, and instant replay. The Dallas Cowboys do not retire the numbers of past standouts as a matter of policy. Instead, the team has a "Ring of Honor" in which its all-time greats are honored. Members of the Ring of Honor include Bob Lilly, Don Meredith, Don Perkins, Chuck Howley, Mel Renfro, Roger Staubach, Lee Roy Jordan, coach Tom Landry, Tony Dorsett, Randy White, Bob Hayes, Tex Schramm, Rayfield Wright and Cliff Harris.The Dallas Cowboys play their home games at the Texas Stadium, which was opened on October 24, 1971 and has a seating capacity 65,675. The teams previous stadium was the Cotton Bowl, opened in 1960-70 and had a seating capacity of 72,132.


Google NFL Dallas Cowboys History News


Mike Finger: Cowboys must keep their faith
San Antonio Express, TX - Aug 7, 2007
The Dallas Cowboys leave town today, and the next time they visit, they'll have to share the Alamodome with Church of God worshipers. ...

Cowboys' Irvin Leads 6 Inducted Into Pro Football Hall of Fame
Bloomberg - Aug 4, 2007
4 (Bloomberg) -- Wide receiver Michael Irvin, a member of three Super Bowl championship teams with the Dallas Cowboys, was among six former National ...

NFL Tight-End Chris Cooley & Christy Oglevee To Marry!
Post Chronicle - Aug 8, 2007
The Washington Post scoops: Chris Cooley, the only player in league history to simultaneously put the Dallas Cowboys and Redskinettes in disarray, ...

Dallas Morning News (subscription)

Tim Cowlishaw on the Cowboys, Mavericks and more (8/8)
Dallas Morning News (subscription), TX - Aug 8, 2007
JEAtkins525: Out of all the first round ousters this season among Dallas teams (Mavs, Stars, Desperados, Cowboys), which did you think was most surprising ...


Home        About Us      Contacts      Site map