Nfl_pic1 NFL Text NFl Images NFL image2  
| HOME |






Home > Oakland Raiders > History

American Football East
New England Patriots
New York Jets
Buffalo Bills
Miami Dolphins
American Football North
Pittsburgh Steelers
Baltimore Ravens
Cincinnati Bengals
Denver Broncos
American Football South
Jacksonville Jaguars
Indianapolis Colts
Houston Texans
Tennessee Titans
American Football West
Cleveland Browns
San Diego Chargers
Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders
National Football Conference East
Philadelphia Eagles
New York Giants
Washington Redskins
Dallas Cowboys
National Football Conference North
Minnesota Vikings
Detroit Lions
Green Bay Packers
Chicago Bears
National Football Conference South
Atlanta Falcons
New Orleans Saints
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Carolina Panthers
National Football Conference West
Seattle Seahawks
Arizona Cardinals
St. Louis Rams
San Francisco 49ers

Oakland Raiders History

  Untitled Document





raiders logo

The Oakland Raiders are a National Football League team based in Oakland, California. Currently the Oakland Raiders are one of four teams in the Western Division of the American Football Conference. For a while, the new American Football League team was known as the Senors but by the time the 1960 season started, the Oakland team was known as the Raiders. It is most likely the name was chosen by principal owner Chet Soda and his partners, since it is doubtful a fan contest would have been staged in Oakland since the first team would have to play in San Francisco.

The Raiders began play in the American Football League in 1960.Al Davis, a former assistant coach for the San Diego Chargers, was hired as head coach and general manager in 1963. He reorganized the Raiders, and the team improved to a 10-4 win-loss record. By 1965, the team established itself as one of the dominating forces in professional sports.The Raiders captured the 1967 AFL title under head coach John Rauch. Quarterback Daryle Lamonica won the first of his two passing titles as Oakland advanced to the Super Bowl to face the NFL-champion Green Bay Packers. Green Bay won 33-14, but the Raiders had established themselves as an AFL power. The Raiders reached the AFL Championship Game under Rauch in 1968 and again in 1969, this time under former Raiders assistant coach John Madden, who had taken over the head coaching duties.


Madden was named AFL coach of the year in 1969 when, at age 32, he was the AFL’s youngest coach.Oakland joined the NFL in 1970 when the NFL and AFL completed their merger. The Raiders were professional football’s most consistent team from the mid-1960s through the mid-1980s.


From 1965 season, the Raiders would go on to make winning records in 19 of the next 20 seasons. They reached the playoffs 15 times and earned four National Football League (NFL) or American Football League (AFL) titles in 19 seasons.From 1980 to 1993 the team reached the postseason eight times, winning the Super Bowl in 1981 and 1984.In 1987, the Raiders drafted dual-sport athlete Bo Jackson after he originally decided to not play professional football in 1986 (when drafted by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the first round). The Raiders are the only team that appeared in at least one Super Bowl each decade during the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s.

 In 1982 the Raiders played in Los Angeles, until the 1994 season.Over the years, the Raiders have qualified for the post-season often and captured three Super Bowls championships – XI ( January 9, 1977), XV(January 25, 1981), and XVIII (January 22, 1984).Legally, the team is a limited partnership operated by Al Davis, who serves as President of the team's general partner, A.D. Football, Inc. The Raiders Hall of Fame inductees include Ron Mix (1979) - 1971, Jim Otto (1980) - 1960-1974, George Blanda (1981) - 1967-1975,Gene Upshaw (1987) - 1967-1981, Willie Brown (1984) - 1967-1978, Fred Bilentnikoff (1988) - 1965-1978, Art Shell (1989) - 1968-1982,Ted Hendricks (1990) - 1975-1983, Al Davis (1992) - 1963-1965, 1966-Present,Mike Haynes (1997) - 1983-1989,Eric Dickerson (1999) - 1992,Ronnie Lott (2000) - 1991-1992, Howie Long (2000) - 1981-1993, Dave Casper (2002) - 1974-1980, 1984,James Lofton (2003) - 1987-1988, Marcus Allen (2003) - 1982-1992 and Bob Brown (2004) - 1971-1973. The Oakland Raiders have no retired numbers because they do not retire jerseys of former players. The Raiders play their home games at Network Associates Coliseum, which opened September 18, 1966 and seats 63,026.


Google NFL Oakland Raiders News


Jobless black NFL QBs wonder if race is an issue
Atlanta Journal Constitution,  USA - 21 hours ago
Since being released by the Oakland Raiders after the 2006 season, the quarterback who led the New Orleans Saints to their first playoff win has seemingly ...


EA Celebrates Madden NFL 09 Launch With Maddenpalooza
GameFocus, Canada - Jul 24, 2008
Hosted at the Rose Bowl, the stadium where John Madden and the 1976 Oakland Raiders won their first Super Bowl, Maddenpalooza brings together the impressive ...

Oakland Raiders Eliminated from Playoffs on First Day of NFL ...
Bleacher Report, CA - Jul 24, 2008
For the first time in history, the line for Raiders to make the playoffs is "the infinite symbol" to one. A bet of $1 will result in unlimited money forever ...

The Money Times

Raiders checking in for training camp
Silver & Black Illustrated - Jul 23, 2008
Fassel has a history of working with quarterbacks in the NFL and says he likes what he sees out of Oakland starter JaMarcus Russell. ...
Will Raiders need a circus tent to open camp? Roster is still a puzzle San Francisco Chronicle
all 251 news articles

How to be an online sports bookie, The Best Online Sports Bookmaking Software, Pay Per Head Sports and Wagers , Per Head News and Blog , PPH Sports Betting, The most reliable Offshore Bookmaking Software for bookies The best Sports Bookies Agents Pay Per Head Services Per Head Software


Home        About Us      Contacts      Site map